50 shades of grey or green!

50 Shades of Grey is the latest extremely popular piece of fiction about bondage and sadomasochism that seems to have a massive audience of bored housewife’s, according to some.

Am I green with envy about the instant massive success of this novel? which is moving off the book shelves as fast as the retailers can stack them. Well the only thing that I know about bondage is how to tie a reef knot, which I learnt as a boy scout, As for sadomasochism, I think I get my share by looking at my daily book sales, sometimes it’s pain and other times a great pleasure.

I also popped into W H Smiths the other day to buy some printer ink, on entering the shop there was a large stand full of 50 Shades of Grey. I went back to the shop a few hours later only to find the stand half empty, this cause me a little twinge of pain. So it seems that I am getting my sadomasochism hits from 50 Shades of Grey by just popping in and out of a book shop.

Will I buy the book to add to my pain or pleasure, or am I so green with envy that I will resist the temptation? Of course I will download a copy, after all I do need to check out the competition and I could also leant a few more useful knots.

However the questions that I would like answered are; did the cart come before the horse, who decided to stack all the book shops, did the publishers know they had an instant success in their hands and how did the tiny snowball run down the hill gathering momentum until it was a big as a house? 

Of course all the book shop owners are now rubbing their hands and jumping on the publicity cart, but some must have stuck their necks out in the first place.

So how can I personally jump on the bandwagon, I could change the title of my sequel to Vantastic France and call it 50 Shades of France. Then again I could just sit back and do nothing knowing that successful novels will stir up more interest in people reading books, this in turn will result in a massive upturn in my sales over the coming months turning my bank balance from a light shade of red to a very healthy black!

 

To keep your feet on the ground like mine are you might like my little post,  ‘Can you make money from publishing on Amazon’

 

 

About Steve Bichard

I run French Classified and Property
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50 shades of grey or green!

  1. lornacooke says:

    Well, my son put a copy of 50 Shades on my kindle as a pressie when I visited him recently. I started to read it on the ferry on the way back home and read about 2 chapters. I didn’t get as far as the raunchy stuff, I am afraid to say I didn’t like the writing style at all. I went back to my index to see what else I could read on the journey home. I may try again one day as I may have been unfair – and I do like a bit of ‘raunchy – and who am I to talk to has yet to upload my book onto Amazon?

    But I wouldn’t bother being envious, Steve – there is more to life than money!

  2. Steph says:

    Good post Steve! Maybe I should mug up on my knots too …

Leave a Reply

