Get your novel printed in four days with Create Space

I must admit that I was not expecting such a brilliant service from Amazon Create Space. I ordered my proof copies just a few days ago, they are now sitting in front of me. That was just 4 days from the States to France.

Proof copy of Vantastic FranceIt is such a great feeling to see your hard work in print, a dream I had had for over 20 years when I first put pen to paper, because at the time I didn’t even own a PC. That book is still a work in progress and two years ago I decided to write a short novel just to see if I had it in me to write a book. So if I can do it, I am sure many of you out there thinking of publishing a book can.

Gone are the days when you needed to find a publisher, but I did send a few chapters of Vantastic France to over twenty. With the advent of Kindle publishing, you now can have an e-book for sale in days. Further more, with Create Space you can use the facility to have print on demand. Admittedly you novel will no appear in thousands of book shops, but most people probably buy most of their books on-line, so you still have a massive audience.

Obviously it would still be wonderful to find a publisher, but for budding novelists like myself, then Amazon is a very good starting point and a lot less expensive than vanity publishing.

I wish I had a pound for everyone that has told me they have either written a novel and not tried publishing it, or want to write a novel but realise it is very difficult to have it accepted by a publisher. Well now there is no excuse not to, so any budding authors should take a leaf out of my book, as it were.

The next step for me is to thoroughly check over my proof edition, then click the button to print. This will initially be available from the US, so I am not sure what the charges for postage will be to Europe. However I will probably order a number of copies to be stocked by Amazon UK, which will keep postage charges lower. I will let you know how this pans out.

About Steve Bichard

I run French Classified and Property
This entry was posted in Publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Get your novel printed in four days with Create Space

  1. Steph says:

    I’ve been dithering between Lulu and Createspace to get a few hard copies of some of my ebooks. I think you’ve persuaded me to go with the latter now.
    Wishing you every success with your book. It’s on my list to buy, read and review, since as a French expat I’m addicted to books, fiction and nonfiction, about moving and living in France.

  2. Hi Steph
    I still cannot believe how easy it was and then to actually hold the book in my hand was a great feeling. What is also good is that there is no better way than to finally check your book, than to read it in paperback. I will make a few changes before it actually goes to print. Of course it is easy to make changes on the e-book version, so I will do those as well.
    Like you I love reading boys about people starting a life in a new country, I look forward to your review when it finally goes to print.
    Let me know about your books as the link on your profile, didn’t work.
    Steve

Leave a Reply

