Going to Print With Amazon Create Space

After some sound advice on Dragos Roua‘s Blog about self publishing, I finally managed to go through the process of getting my novel ready to print.

I have to say as this was all new to me that I was a bit confused, wit h book sizes, font sizes and a few other issues. The recommend as 6″ x 9″ book, but I noticed most of my books in my collection were 5.25″ x 8″ so I put that into my word doc settings. You also have to have the right gutter and margin setting, to be fair I didn’t even know what a gutter was, well not that sort of gutter. However, good old Google came to the rescue, so I will add some links that I found helpful.

I am sure many of you will chuckle at my innocence, but then again I am sure that there are those of you that will be in the same boat as I was in this week, sometime in the future. The great thing about the net is that we can all help each other and my philosophy has always been that if I can help someone out, then for sure someone else will return the favour.

Helpful links

The first is from my last post and is the post from Dragos about self publishing on Amazon.

Publishing Yourself Blog also had a few handy tips and links.

Create Space has a very good guide to A Step-By-Step Guide to Formatting Your Book’s Interior

The Book Publishing Hub   also can help you out. Easy self publishing with professional results. We’re here to help you create and sell your own paperback or digital books. It’s free to sign up and you can choose from a range of publishing options. We offer the latest tools to give your book a flying start!

I am slowly getting over my statitis, which is the disease that  you get from over checking your Kindle book sales. I am down to about 3 times a day and today I had a new sale every time that I checked. So I am now up to 23 sales in about the same number of days, although I have not check the last few hours!

About Steve Bichard

I run French Classified and Property
This entry was posted in Publishing, Publishing on Kindle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Going to Print With Amazon Create Space

  1. Steph says:

    Some very helpful advice here, thanks Steve.

  2. Vera says:

    Am back in the saddle again after reading your blog Steve. Have self published three books, (to do with being a psychic) but got stuck with the ebook conversions which made me fall out of the saddle. In other words, I hit a brick wall. That was three months ago. Have felt the urge building up around me to start trying to climb back on board but have resisted. Landed on your blog by working my way through my Followers (Snippets from Labartere is the blog). And feel inspired not to give up! It is a lonely business, this writing lark, and sometimes we need a bit of a shove. Hope your book is successful. And thankyou for making me feel enthused again.

  3. Hi Vera
    I am glad you are back in the saddle again, Kindle is the easy option as you have seen. I have had over 1500 downloads since January, although some of those of course are from my free promotion days.
    I am steadily selling 7 to 10 books a day now, so it seems to be working for me.
    There is a lot of help and advice on the forum when you sign up to KDP, so you should have no trouble formatting your books. let me know when you get them on so I can give you a little promotion.
    Twitter has been a great help for me with promotion.

Leave a Reply

