First Milestone in My Book Sales

Firstly can I say a big thank you to all of you who have downloaded my novel in the first week. It is greatly appreciated in this early stage in the launch of  Vantastic France. Sales have now reached double figures in the first week and although that might not be a milestone for some, to me personally it means a lot. A few reviews are here.

However, my feet are still firmly on the ground as I realise that most of my sales are from family and friends, that I have been informing about my book. Which is what you have to do to get the ball rolling, I have also been tinkering with the tags for the book on Amazon, so I have added a few more tags like ‘expats’ ‘rural living’ ‘moving to France’ and a few others. This is very important to help with sales, as people search on Amazon amongst the vast range of books and downloads to choose from.

Other ways to promote your book

I occasionally go on a number of Anglo-French forums, so I have mentioned my novel on them. As these forum members are mainly ex-pats and the book is based on some similar characters they may know, I though it could be of interest to them and it did stimulate a few sales.

It is no use just sitting back expecting the book to sell in it’s early days as a new unknown author, so blatant self promotion is the easiest way to start. Of course it could backfire on me, as some people might not be as good as they thought it would be, but that is a risk I am prepared to take.

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...

Facebook and Twitter are also a great way to help promote you book and of course starting a blog like this one will also help. There are also quite few sites where you can send a press release and information about your book.

Publicity Insider

Send2Press

XPressPress

Also if you are lucky, your own local paper might publish a press release, but that would be far easier if you had a paperback version of your book to send them, which obviously will be the next step for me, to get the book in print.

Here are some other helpful sites for book promotion;

Articles:
Advice and information regarding eBook Promotion.

Awards:
What better way to publisize your book?

Newsletter Publishing:
Promote your website and your eBook with your own newsletter.

Web Publishing:
Resources and information for publishing your website.

ePublisher Services Directory:
Listing of vendors providing services for eBook Publishing, including eBook design, cover art, publicity and promotion.

Book Reviewers:
A good review of your book can be very helpful in your promotions. EBC offers an extensive listing.

Publisher Associations:
Associations that provide resources and assistance to publishers.

There is no end of free information on the web to help promote your book, so there really is no need to purchase a book on how to do it.

Book Reviews

Probably the most important factor to help sell you book are the reviews that it might get on Amazon. You will probably find that 99% of readers will not leave a review but you can add a polite review request in your book. This is a tip that I have just found, so it will be my next move.

As a very novice author I am  keeping this diary to maybe help others that are in a similar situation as myself. Feedback is most welcome on this topic, from novices like myself and of course successful published authors. We all have to start somewhere and I am sure many well know authors were in my position once.

About Steve Bichard

I run French Classified and Property
This entry was posted in Book Sales, Marketing and blogging advice and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

